Travel Theme: Animals

Recently I discovered a blog called ‘Where’s my Backpack’, This Blog is full of wonderful pictures and Travel information. One of the fun things that Ailsa does is a weekly travel theme, where she posts pictures relating to a specific theme and invites others to join in. When possible I plan on joining in on the fun, while I believe the spirit of the ‘challenge’ is to go out and take pictures, I don’t have a lot of spare time at the moment, so I have pulled pictures from my collection to post. In the future I hope to have more time to get out and take pictures in the aria to post. Hope everyone enjoys the pictures.

To see Ailsa’a pictures use the link below

http://wheresmybackpack.com/2012/10/05/travel-theme-animals/

Image

This first picture was taken close to San Ramon, Peru where my in-laws live, we were visiting a local butterfly habitat and this fellow was kind enough to pose for a picture.

Image

Here are a few Llamas that were grazing at Machu Picchu, the government has a small herd that they use to help keep the vegetation in check within the site.

Image

I took this picture along the northern cost of Peru, close to the town of Mancora. These sea urchins are about the size of a half dollar.

Image

This little monkey, actually a marmoset I believe, was at a fruit stand that is at the beginning of a trail to a waterfall, This again was close to San Ramon, Peru.

Image

I took this Golden Mantled Ground Squirrel in Sequoia National Forest. I apologize for the quality as this was taken with a film camera and I scanned the image.

Image

This is a Yellow Bellied Marmot, I took this picture In Sequoia National Forest as well and again is a scaned photo.

Image

This final Picture is Teeber, he was our beloved Boxer that passed away earlier this year due to heart trouble. No collection of animal pictures would be coplete without him. You are truly missed my friend.

About Lyle

I love travel and currently own and operate a Bed and Breakfast called GringoWasi with my beautiful Peruvian wife, the property is located in the small town of Huarocondo, and about 30 minutes West of Cusco Peru.
This entry was posted in Travel Theme and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel Theme: Animals

  1. Great photos – and a sweet homage to your beautiful dog.

    • mongo466 says:

      Thanks for the compliment, in a way Teeber’s passing was a blessing. Shortly after deciding to move to Peru he developed a heart condition, the vet would not clear him for the flight and we were having trouble finding him a good home. After he passed we had him cremated and he is now here in Peru with us.

Leave a Reply

