Faces in the Mountain

Faces, faces everywhere. Some scientists say that our minds are essentially programmed from birth to find or recognize faces. Some believe it is this programing that causes us to seek out patterns like faces or even animals  where none exist, for example, clouds, trees, burnt toast, water stains or mountains to name a few. The Inca culture was not immune to this phenomenon and faces and animals are commonly pointed out during tours of some of the ancient sites here in the Cusco region.

While some of these faces are easy to spot, it wasn’t until I saw an enhanced photo of Machu Picchu that I actually saw the face in the mountain. Because of this I decided to share a few of my photos of locations bearing faces of animals. I have posted two of each photo, the first will be a normal picture, try to find the face or animal before scrolling down to the enhanced picture

Disclaimer: I am no artist; my enhancements are only intended to highlight the point of interest. That said, on with the fun.

These first three pictures were all taken at Ollantaytambo, only one is pointed out during the typical tours, we like to show our guests here at GringWasi all of them when we are visiting the site.

This first picture is of the mountain side where the face of Wiracochan is said to be watching over the valley, this face is fairly easy to see and most people don’t have a problem spotting it.

Did you spot this one without help?

This picture is of the image of a condor head in the side of the hill, also typically easy to spot

Ok, did you see this one?

This third one is a little more difficult, we have been told it is the image of an Inca, although which Inca is up for debate. Do you see him on the side of the hill?

OK, how many got this one?

I saved the best for last; do you see the Inca face in this Machu Picchu picture? If not don’t feel bad, like I said, I needed a modified photo before I could see it, now I can’t look at a photo of Machu Picchu without seeing it.

So, did you get it right? Unfortunately I was zoomed in a little to close when I took the shot, but I still managed to get enough of the mountain to show the face. I hope everyone had fun with this and I hope to find more to share in the future. Leave me a comment on how many you saw before seeing the modified pictures.

About Lyle

I love travel and am currently operating a Bed and Breakfast called GringoWasi in Cusco Peru with my beautiful Peruvian wife.
This entry was posted in Local Sights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Faces in the Mountain

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    Really amazing!!

  2. Patti says:

    Very cool! I saw them all except for the MP photo. Fun stuff!

  3. mongo466 says:

    Glad you enjoyed it Patti, that is the one most people have a hard time with and the main reason I wanted to do the post. I remember being on the tour at Machu Picchu, the guide was talking about the face and I just couldn’t see it. This is probably because most people are looking for a face in the mountain, not several peaks that make up a face.

  4. ocelot81 says:

    Interesting pictures… I wonder if for the lack of mountains in Ica the Nazca people decided better to make many drawings

Leave a Reply

