Altitude Sickness in Cusco

Due to the fact that information changes on occasion, I have posted a new article on Altitude Sickness or AMS, rather than try and update this older post, or risk readers getting bad information, I have decided to delete this old post. If you are looking for information on AMS in Cusco, please use the link below to visit my most recent post.

https://agringoslifeincusco.wordpress.com/2017/01/15/ams-in-cusco/

About Lyle

I love travel and am currently operating a Bed and Breakfast called GringoWasi in Cusco Peru with my beautiful Peruvian wife.
This entry was posted in Cusco, Travel Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Altitude Sickness in Cusco

  1. pmaghamfar says:

    This is really good information to know. My husband can have problems with high altitudes, it’s very real!

    • Lyle says:

      Glad you liked it, the thing I found interesting when doing the research was that the medication doesn’t actually protect you from getting altitude sickness.

  2. sethsnap says:

    Great advice. We had to learn all of this when we were in flight attendant training. I had some problems once when I went up Pike’s Peak. Wow, had a massive headache when I came back down.

    • Lyle says:

      Thanks, while it is a concern, I think people on Trip Advisor tend to blow it way out of proportion and make travelers a bit worried. Everyone I have met so far has experienced nothing more than the headache for the first few days.

  3. Nina says:

    A lot of the things you wrote are simply nonsense. Swollen hands and head are the symptoms of serious Altitude Sickness, one that might suggest an Edema and requires going to a hospital. Coca leaves haven´t been proven to prevent or treat AMS, whereas Diamox has. It´s really nice that you´re not into prescription drugs, but don´t give people bogus advice, comparing coca and Diamox, will you? Oh, and ¨summary¨ is spelled with an a. ¨Summery¨, on the other hand, is something that has to do with summer.

    • Lyle says:

      Thanks for your opinion Nina, and while you are entitled to yours, I am also entitled to mine; and while I do not wish to start a debate here I feel a response to your comment is needed. First, if you have a problem with this information, please see the links at the bottom of the post and address your issues with the sources for the information.

      Second, according to most of the information I have read, as well as my own experience, people making repeat trips to high altitude under similar conditions, may not have the same reaction as on previous trips. As such, it would be quite difficult to do a proper study on coca leaves as producing a reliable control group would be difficult, if not impossible. Personally I think the coca tea relieves the symptoms of mild Altitude sickness as have all of our guests that have used it. Weather this is a placebo effect or not I could not say, but if it provides relief, that is all that really matters.

      Finally, thank you for catching the spelling error, English never was my strongest subject. I was always better at science and math.

  4. H iLyle,
    Thanks for visiting Writing Between the Lines. I am so glad to have found your blog–we are going to Cusco very soon, and I found this post helpful.

Comments are closed.