Travel Theme: Gaudy

Here are some Pictures from a local parade, not here in Huarocondo, but in a town in the Sacred Valley called Urabamba. While I think the costumes are beautiful works of art, some might consider them to be ‘Gaudy’. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

IMG_1924

Image

Image

 

 

This Travel Theme was brought to you by Ailsa at “Where’s my backpack”, to check out Ailsa’s gaudy pictures, use the following link.

http://wheresmybackpack.com/2013/02/08/travel-theme-gaudy/

About Lyle

I love travel and am currently operating a Bed and Breakfast called GringoWasi in Cusco Peru with my beautiful Peruvian wife.
This entry was posted in Travel Theme and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Travel Theme: Gaudy

  1. Sas says:

    The little girls in their outfits reminds me of my dancing outfits when I was that age. That headdress looks so heavy and uncomfortable though!

    • Lyle says:

      Heavy and hot, we were at the end of the route, most of the head dresses and masks were off when they got to us, still managed to get a few good pics though.

  2. love the be-decked girls.

  3. Pingback: Travel Theme – Gaudy « thegingerbreadcafe

  4. Those purple pants are what did it for me. LOL Awesome!

  5. rommel says:

    Very vibrant!!! And the masks and clothing art are authentic and unique- that is, the patterns and designs are very different and unusual.

    • Lyle says:

      Thanks Rommel, this was defiantly authentic, while I don’t remember what the celebration was for, the street was lined with locals and not tourists, I believe the celebration was last may so we will try and catch it again this year, maybe even do a post on it.

  6. loganbruin says:

    Urabamba seemed boring to me, so I guess I went on the wrong day! ;o)

  7. Loca Gringa says:

    Absolutely lovely!!! But no not gaudy ๐Ÿ™‚ Carneval is going on here at the moment as well. Love carneval. Been under the weather, hope I feel good enough to go out and get some great shots like you got!

  8. Cool pics. I’d love to get to Peru one day.
    Thanks for the visit over at CTB ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

