HGTV – House Hunters International age Restrictions

Recently a fellow blogger here in Cusco, was contacted by one of the producers from the House Hunters International series. They were interested to know if he new of anyone that had recently moved to the area. He remembered that my wife and I had just moved to the Cusco area, so he forwarded the message to me. Below is the initial e-mail that was forwarded to me.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am a Producer on the US travel show House Hunters International.  I found your website when looking for expats who might be interested in being a part of the show, I hope you don’t mind me contacting you?

I thought I would reach out to see if you or anyone you know have recently moved abroad and might be interested in taking part in House Hunters International?!  Ideally they should be outgoing and fun, aged under 45 and have bought a property within the last few years or are renting a property.

House Hunters International is a half-hour TV show currently airing on the Home and Garden Television Network (HGTV) in America. The series is designed to de-mystify the international home-buying / renting process, by going behind the scenes of a house hunt where expats and their real estate agents tour 3 homes. At its core, House Hunters International is a travel show concentrating on the idiosyncrasies of the locales and what makes them special and different.

Here are some examples of the show that you can watch on Youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=reYI3L3lC-c – Barcelona from LA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOiump3__Mo – Vienna from California

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tblIVLw0coE – Panama from Pennsylvania

Please do get in touch if you or anyone you know may be interested in the show.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My wife and I really enjoy watching HHI and one of our favorite episodes was the one where they followed a Peruvian/American couple in Lima, this couple was looking for a house to use as a bed and breakfast. As this episode aired when we were in the planning stages of our move we found it quit enjoyable. So I actually contacted the show prior to our move, not realizing that they want people that have already purchased a home. Needless to say, we never herd from them, so when I received the above e-mail, I was excited and responded. Here I thought that they might be interested in a similar case but in a much different location, and out of all the reasons that I was expecting to be turned down for, age was not one of them.

You will notice in the second paragraph that they state, ‘Ideally they should be outgoing and fun, aged under 45 and have bought a property within the last few years or are renting a property.’ Considering we fit all of the criteria except one (age), I thought that we would make good candidates and at least warrant an interview. I honestly thought that the fact we are a little over 45, would not be a big issue, especially since they used the term ‘Ideally’.

This I found out, was wrong, I guess my definition of Ideally differs greatly from theirs. Their statement should have red that no applicants over 45 would be considered, which seems a bit like age discrimination to me. I guess that since they are not looking for employees, they can discriminate  based on age, or whatever they want. One would think that having a large variety of people on the show, would draw a wider variety of viewers. I guess I don’t know that much about the TV business, It would have been better though if the initial e-mail had been a little more clear on this point. The following is the response that I received from the producer.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Hi Lyle,

Thanks so much for contacting me, wow what a beautiful place you live in – the photos are stunning!

I’m afraid the network are very strict on the age limit of our show (most infuriating I can tell you) but I am wishing you the very best of luck with the bed and breakfast, and if the guidelines change i will be in touch like a flash!

Kind regards,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Oh well, I guess thats life in the big city, I am so glad I now live in a small town, life is much less complicated here at GringoWasi.

About Lyle

I love travel and currently own and operate a Bed and Breakfast called GringoWasi with my beautiful Peruvian wife, the property is located in the small town of Huarocondo, and about 30 minutes West of Cusco Peru.
This entry was posted in GringoWasi and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HGTV – House Hunters International age Restrictions

  1. Angeline M says:

    I love watching HHI too. Not until recently did I find out that the featured couple have already purchased the house when they are filming. It is too bad about the age restrictions, I’m way over 45 and would find it even more interesting if they featured more “mature” couples 🙂

    • Lyle says:

      Having the people already purchase the property definitely makes sense for the production schedule, but the age thing is defiantly frustrating.

Leave a Reply

