50 Tons of Trash

I just read an article on Peru this Week and thought it worth sharing with all of my readers. I also hope that those of you with travel blogs will share this as I am sure this is not just a localized problem.

I was always brought up to respect the environment and not litter, my family use to spend almost every summer camping in California where I grew up. We never left trash behind, and when out fishing, hiking or backpacking, we always went by the rule ‘Pack in, Pack out’ meaning you carry everything back, that you carried with you. This included the trash, no matter how much stuff you have, you always have room for the trash as you started with it any way. Not only that, if I saw trash, I would pick it up and take it out with me, there by leaving the woods a little better than I found it.

Now I have noticed since moving here, as most travelers here would, that a large enough portion of the Peruvian people, do not care about their environment . This is evident by, not only the large amount of trash along the roadways and in some of the streets, but also by the number of people who I have seen tossing trash out of their vehicle windows. I can see some visitors may use this as an excuse, thinking if they can do it, I can to. I would hope we are all better than that.

Currently there are restrictions on what you are allowed to bring into Machu Picchu, typically no food or plastic water bottles. From what we have heard, they don’t currently inspect bags or backpacks, so they are working on the honor system. I imagine that if the trash continues to accumulate, they will increase the restrictions until you are not allowed to bring anything in. Then of course people will complain and wonder why they can’t bring anything in to Machu Picchu, or maybe even any of the sites.

Please remember, whether you are at home or traveling. If you pack it in, pack it out, this world has enough litter bugs already.

http://www.peruthisweek.com/news-3853-50-tons-of-trash-removed-from-machu-picchu-town/

About Lyle

I love travel and am currently operating a Bed and Breakfast called GringoWasi in Cusco Peru with my beautiful Peruvian wife.
This entry was posted in Machu Picchu, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 50 Tons of Trash

  1. Patti says:

    I wonder if this is part of the reason why there are rumors about Machu Picchu closing?

Leave a Reply

